• Driving lesson syllabus & progress chart

    The driving lesson plan consist of about 23 units. It's drawn up by the Driving and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) who sets the driving test standard. Each unit is a detailed description of the course of instruction for an individual driving lesson which covers many of the aspects of learning to drive a car.

    This syllabus is the course you must learn in order to pass the DVSA practical driving test. Your driving instructor or trainer must teach the syllabus in order for a positive outcome.

    The current DVSA syllabus is as follows:

    1. Controls
    2. Moving Off and Stopping
    3. Mirrors and Signals
    4. Pull up on the right & Reverse
    5. Reverse Parking - In & out  the Bay
    6. Parallel Parking
    7. Emergency Stop
    8. Pedestrian Crossing
    9. Approaching junctions to turn left or right
    10. Emerging at T Junctions
    11. Crossroads
    12. Dual Carriageway
    13. Meeting other traffic
    14. Crossing other traffic
    15. Overtaking other traffic
    16. Adequate Clearance
    17. Roundabouts
    18. Progress
    19. Hesitancy
    20. Normal Positioning
    21. Sat Nav direction
    22. Turn in the Road
    23. Reverse to the Left

    One of the tools we use to teach the syllabus is the use of Student Progress chart.

    The purpose of the student progress chart is to ensure all key stages are covered and achieved a minimum standard set by the DVSA. The student will be able to glance and see how well they are doing and what still needs to be done. Your instructor will also be able to monitor your progress and help you to achieve the goals within a short period, without cutting corners.

    The chart is based on a 5 point up scaling system. The 5 key stages serves to evaluate the effectiveness of using knowledge, practical skills and experience into action at a given situations.

    As you are learning, your skills should progress through five levels (Progress Chart). Once you have consistently reached level five you should be ready to take the driving test.

    Five levels of skill are:

    1. Skill is introduced
    2. Under full instruction
    3. Correctly when prompted
    4. Seldom needs to be prompted
    5. Consistently and without any prompting.

    On your driving test day if you pass or fail the examiner will give you the 'Driving Test Report DL25D. It explains the marking on the test report. click here for driving test report DL25D

    So you see' driving is a life long skill which takes time and experience as we embark on this wonderful journey. Once we begin to learn these skills to a minimum standard in moving this powerful machine under our command, and are able to manipulate it like walking and running, one can never forget it.

  • Learner progress chart

    DVSA has provided a Progress Chart download form to help you keep track of your progress with learning to drive, and to encourage you to become skilled in all the important areas.